A letter to a fellow blogger….(thoughts on division versus multiplying)

Please note the following was a letter/comment posted. But I expressed so much of my views regarding divisions and conflicts within the 2nd Amendment Gun Rights family. That I think it worthy to share with all of you my readers.

***

When I was in the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, there was a saying…. “Perception is 90% of the truth!”

What that meant, is that how someone perceives something will be the truth in their eyes and how they treat the matter.

Often I feel the pro-gun/pro-2nd Amendment movement divides itself needlessly. To me it’s akin to the Marines and the Army bashing each other, along with the Navy…etc.

For instance, the NRA is not perfect. No one is. Just like there is no perfect church, and if anyone finds one, don’t join it as it’ll cease to be perfect.  Mistakes will be made…

That said, the NRA does a lot of good for the 2nd Amendment. So does GOA and many other organizations.  The NRA is akin to our army. It’s the big force….it may be slow sometimes, full of beaucracy, etc.  GOA might be akin to the marines.  More nimble, a bit more aggressive.

Stupidity sets in when we start tearing each other apart.  Sometimes we need to forgive. Sometimes we need to simply realize that there are different missions related to the same war.  Air Force fighter pilots are great pilots but they’d have done a lousy job landing amphibious assault vehicles on D-day. Hence, that job was filled by Navy and numerous Coast Guardsmen with small boat experience.

Wars are won and lost on two accounts. Firstly, they are lost militarily. And second, they are lost politically. We need the soldiers in our armed forces who can with both battles.  That means some need to be able to handle the politics that is dealing with the outside. While others need to be able to train those fighting on the front.  Both are needed…they should not disdain each other.

We are all akin to officers in the armed forces. We may be in different branches and different roles. But I think we all should act like officers, be gentlemenly.

Yes, sometimes the feathers get ruffled. Sometimes we need to all take a step back, sometimes we need to forgive.  Reconciliation isn’t likely to happen overnight..may take days or it may take years.

Lastly, I think we always need to be mindful of our image. Especially, as it pertains to outsiders (those not members of the pro-gun/2nd Amendment choir).  It can be too easy to provide fodder to the other side. When a pro-gunner mixes in vitriol, hatred, racism, or any other such denigrating activity is has the effect of tarnishing the image as a whole by providing an example to the anti-gunners/disarmament folks to use in portraying us to the masses.

And this is very much akin to religion. One does not convert one of the masses overnight. Rather it’s a prolonged conversion of influence, although it may appear that the individual member of the masses converts to our side overnight. There is usually a hidden trail of influences.

Now I am not sure what happened, or what went on behind the scenes. But I think you have the choice to choose the path that is either noble or ignoble. One can choose to quietly and gentlemanly walk away.  Or one can raise a fuss and try to light a hornets nest.  One is more noble than the other.  And I say this as one who just had to do so on a very personal level this past year. It’s NOT easy….but it’s right.

Often we are so full of pride that we cannot find it in ourselves to do such.  It is hard for Man to apologize when he has made a wrong….it’s even harder for Man to do so when he does not perceive himself to have made any wrong doing.  From personal experience, I have found that apologizing even if I have done no wrong can tremendously affect situations.

On a personal level…I’ll share my feelings. I am not trying to attack you or choose sides or anything of the sort. I am just going to share my personal feelings regarding ***** blog. I read it regularly. I find your blog very informative. It’s a good asset. But there are many times that I feel there is too much vitriole in the postings for my taste.  The information you provide is great, you are great resource. But the delivery sometimes prevents me from being able to pass it around to on-the-fencers.  Take that for whatever it’s worth.  (2 grains of salt adjusted for inflation, give it a few years of this present administration and it might be 2 bags of salt.) *lol*

***

As for the NRA versus GOA.  I just became a member of GOA while at a local gun show today. I became a member of the NRA approx. 2 yrs ago.  I am a relatively new gun owner.  But have become fervent in defense of our rights both 2nd and others.

The one thing I dislike about GOA, and that probably delayed my membership a bit. Was that I felt there was too much finger-pointing at the NRA.  It divides and confuses. If you don’t think so, it’s because you’re not new to the gun world. Take it from a newer user of guns. It can become akin to our present political parties that like to blame and point to the failure of each other. Who cares… I don’t ever want to hear from GOA why the NRA is bad or sucks. I just want to hear why GOA is good. What GOA is doing. Anytime someone is wasting words trashing the NRA or another. They are wasting words that could have been spent furthering our cause.

GOA should really take the mantle. The NRA is the Army, and we’re the Marines.  Sometimes a smaller more mobile unit is required.

Sincerely,
Jason at the N.U.G.U.N. Blog

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2009/05/02/a-letter-to-a-fellow-bloggerthoughts-on-division-versus-multiplying/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

