Gun Show – low turnout? Rece/Depre-ssion kicking in?

This past Saturday I attended one of our large area gun shows at the York Fairgrounds. Didn’t pick up any firearms. But did pick up a couple of knives. Including a beautiful peacock titanium-oxide colored Kerkshaw as a birthday gift for my wife.

What was interesting to note was that the turnout was very low. The past couple of shows it was practically standing-room only. This time the show was sparse. One dealer I know who sold 30+ guns a day at the last show, had only sold 9 as of Saturday afternoon.  Is the recession/depression kicking in? With the current administration seemingly hellbent on destroying the economy. Perhaps not many of us have the free $$$ available to purchase any firearms.

Lastly, there was one factor that really got my goat.  A few vendor tables had a plethora of ammo. What bothered me is that all of this ammo was packaged in the style commonly found at our Walmarts. (Now I am not saying that such packaging is exclusive to Walmart, I really do not know. But what I will say is that I have NEVER seen such ammo packs anywhere but Walmart.)

And it irks me when someone is buying up all the ammo only to sale it at jacked up prices.  When you’re buying the $40/100 rnd box of .223 Federal and selling it for $55/box.  That’s rude…oh, and guess what – I refuse to buy anything from your table.

Now some may say that such is just capitalism. I disagree. Capitalism is Walmart bringing a product for a cheaper price.  Buying all the stock just to resell is disingenuous. I believe such to be rude, selfish and immoral.  To those who think it is not, than consider whether you’d feel the same about food.  If there was a food shortage, do you think it’s right to buy all the available stock from a store and then resell it at exhorberent rates.  Doing so is rude to the community.

I haven’t been able to practice shooting my primary carry firearm in about 4 months. I’ve not been able to find ammo.  And yes, it pisses me off when I find out the reason I can’t find it is because some fat twit is buying it all and creating further scarcity beyond what truly exists.

Don’t expect me to buy anything off your table. My one regret, is that I didn’t give him a peace of my mind. And encourage others not to buy from him as well. (Ironically, it didn’t look like he was moving much of the products at the inflated prices he was asking for.)

Published in: on July 2, 2009 at 4:44 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/gun-show-low-turnout-recedepre-ssion-kicking-in/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

