Ruger SR-556 now in 6.8SPC

Oooh….

While at present I do not own any “black rifles”. I had considered the Ruger SR-556. I love the lines of that model.  But many have made the argument for a classic Stoner version sans piston system.  And I’ve thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have an AR15 which had standard mil-spec parts.

Then I thought, wouldn’t it be nice to have an SR-556 chambered in .308. Then it’d be pretty nice to have that piston system. It’d already not be standardized, so no big deal. I’d also be able to use it for hunting here in Pennsylvania. [NOTE: .308 cartridge qualifies for hunting in PA, the SR-556 out-of-the-box does not. But could with a replacement of the piston with one that operated only in bolt-action mode.]

Well, this isn’t the .308, but it’s definitely a bit more than the 5.56 NATO.  (Tsk tsk to Ruger. Shouldn’t this be called the SR-68SPC).  All that said, I know very very little about the 6.8 SPC cartridge. Yes, I’ve read Wikipedia. But it tells you little about it’s trend and acceptance.

For those in the know. I’d love to hear your comments regarding the 6.8SPC as 1) alternative to the .308, 2) as to it’s acceptance as a round (ie: not going to find itself relegated to the .45 GAP market)

Published in: on August 27, 2010 at 7:05 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/ruger-sr-556-now-in-6-8spc/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I’m in the same position you are in. I am relatively new to guns, and my two rifles are a Ruger 10/22 and a Ruger Mini-14 (you have the target model, right?) That kinda puts me in the Ruger fanboy camp. When the original SR-556 came out, I thought I’d like to have one of those. Then the SR-556C came out and I started really drooling. Now SR-556 6.8SPC is out, and I’m having the exact same thoughts you are having — with no .308 and no AR-15, this could scratch both itches.

    I’d be interested to know what people think of the 6.8 cartridge too.

  2. As far as I’m concerned, unless someone says that the 6.8spc explodes on impact and passes right through everything but animal hide, I’ll stick with an AR10 in .308.

  3. I’d be interested in the recoil of the .308 in a light AR-10 platform. Anybody shot one?

    I’d be tempted to look at the FN-FAL or HK-91 battle rifles for .308. I’ve shot the HK – nice. Never had the opportunity to shoot the FAL.


Leave a Reply

