Ruger SR-2011 … ???

Ruger has another announcement splash page. No word yet, so I guess we await later this morning.

I think I’m putting my money on a Ruger 2011. Perhaps a polymer framed 1911 even. Next bet would be an SR-45 but that does not seem to me revolutionary or “must buy”.

Now where Ruger could really take the cake is releasing the Ruger SR-2011 polymer 1911 platform. And releasing it in 9mm, 40S&W in addition to 45ACP.

Many will point to a gap in the .45ACP line for Ruger. I have a P-345, but many are looking for a striker fired DAO (double-action only) polymer gun.

But I’d wager if Ruger dropped the P-345 for a polymer based 1911 few would be disappointed. I do want to state that I very much like my P-345. I think it has one of the most comfortable grips. Guess we’ll find out in a dew hours.

Ruger.com

UPDATE:  Interesting to note that the email campaign has “R20”, which would seem to fit quite well with my prediction of an “SR-2011”

http://campaign.r20.constantcontact.com/render?…

Published in: on January 2, 2011 at 7:22 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/ruger-announcement-today-will-it-be-a-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Im thinking SR40c. That would be sweet.

  2. @Dave – Nope, can pretty much guarantee that’s not it. Cause that is in no way a “must buy” gun.

    That’s an incremental step. This is going to be something more revolutionary.

    So I’m putting my chips on the SR-2011.

  3. So this isn’t about the Gunsite Scout Rifle?

  4. Nope…

    It’s a new handgun (well at least a new firearm). But as they mentioned winning handgun of the year 3 times in a row, and shooting for a fourth. It’s a pretty good bet it’s a handgun.

    And I’m guessing a 45ACP, with some tie to the 1911.


Leave a Reply

