Coonan Firearms

I passed by one booth that caused me to be taken aback. Coonan Firearms and their .357 1911.   So my first thought was, this must be a 1911 chambered in .357 Sig or something. Nope…it’s actually .357 Magnum.

A 1911 chambered with one of my favorite rounds.

I WANT!!!!

So I got to talking with Mr. Coonan himself about his firearms and a little bit about the history of his company.  It’s actually quite the serendipitous story.

Apparently, he made these a while back. Then sold off the company and it was eventually shuttered. He later bought it back. But the fun part is how he became active again in the manufacture of the Coonan .357

Basically, two young women attending college become friends. One’s dad goes out shooting with his in-laws, only to be teased that what he really needs to buy is a Coonan .357 1911.  Good luck trying to find one, right.

Well lo and behold it gets discovered that his daughter’s friend is a Coonan. Yes, that Coonan. He gets in contact, and the ball gets started rolling. The result…new Coonan 1911’s.

This firearm will probably be on my “list of guns I’ll buy if I win the lotto.” But I think if I could pick any firearm for a BBQ gun. It’d be one of these Coonan 1911’s chambered in the good ol’ .357 magnum.

Mr. Dan Coonan

http://www.coonaninc.com/

Published in: on May 21, 2011 at 4:49 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/coonan-firearms/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s a cool gun for sure.

  2. I have always enjoyed the .357 mag. because, it is the best cartridge in handgun revolvers. As I was researching pistols some years ago, I was wondering if anyone offered it in auto other than, magnum research and found that there was one called “Coonan.” searching for one at all gunshows, to find none. Then, finding that you are building them again. I want a Coonan .357 because, it’s the cartridge of my choice and automatic. As soon as I can afford it, It will be mine. Thank you for reintroducing this fine weapon again.


Leave a Reply

