A New Holster Design by N.U.G.U.N.

[This post was originally written several months ago. And is being published now.]

Today, I have manufactured a prototype holster of new design. It is an idea I have had for nearly two years. But a recent event pushed me into actually implementing the concept and seeing if it would work.

You see, about 2 months ago I had an equipment failure. I often carry an LCP in a DeSantis Nemesis pocket holster. This has worked very well for sometime. But two months ago I was playing with my son while lying on my back. My LCP fell out of the pocket holster. Thus making it accessible to anyone in the house – not something one wants with toddlers around.

The concept involves the use of rare-earth neodymium magnets. Thus providing a level or retention that does not utilize obstruction (ie: no clip, latch, molding, or taught screw). In other words, the firearm is free to be drawn without any physical obstruction. The retention is a magnetic force applied to the slide of the firearm via the magnet.

Below is a video, let me make it clear that one does not, and should not normally handle a firearm in this fashion. I take the time to show that the firearm was indeed cleared and no round was in the chamber.

I first demonstrate the effects of turning the holster upside down. You’ll note that the firearm quickly falls out of the holster. However, the modified holster retains the firearm when turned upside down, in fact it even retains the holster when shaken forcibly. However, there is minimal increase in force necessary to draw the firearm from the holster.

Below is a video of the holster prototype…

While I may pursue the possibility of a patent on this design, I strongly lean toward putting it into public domain. As I believe this has the potential to make many holster designs much much safer. It would weigh on my conscience to think that a toddler might have lived but for a patent.

That said, obtaining a patent would be one means of ensuring the concept is protected. And another company doesn’t try to acquire and control the design.  At this time I do not have the financial means to pursue a patent.

If a holster manufacturer is open to the idea, feel free to contact me.

Published in: on January 13, 2012 at 10:10 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/a-new-holster-design-by-n-u-g-u-n/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Talk to this guy:

    http://evylrobot.com/?cat=10

    Gun owner, custom holster maker extraordinaire, and innovative thinker.


Leave a Reply

