The Appleseed Project: Day Two

The second day was mostly review followed by additional practice; with a lot of focus on NPOA.

We once again started out with an initial assessment target. I must confess, my results were not so good. I only managed one hit on the 100 yd target.  However, my groups showed a somewhat different picture. All my shots were correspondingly low.  By over-laying it over another target it fairly corresponded to three hits at the 100 yd target, three on the 200 yd, couple of near misses at 300 yd. And a possible head shot.  So there was possibly the evidence of improvement.

Afterward we mainly drilled using the modified AQT targets.  The course of fire  for these were fairly standard.

  1. 5 shots from standing, on one large silhouette
  2. 10 shots on two medium sized silhouettes (5 on each) from sitting/kneeling position after transitioning* from a standing position. This involved a magazine change after the first two rounds.
  3. 10 shots on three small silhouettes (3 on 1st, 3 on 2nd, 4 on 3rd) from a prone position after transitioning* from a standing position. This two involved a magazine change after the first two rounds.
  4. 10 shots on 4 silhouettes from a prone position at relaxed pace using Rifleman’s cadence.  (2 on the first two, three on the the second two.)

* All transitions required rifles to be unloaded and magazines on the ground. The range master would call “fire” and we would transition from standing to the required position. Picking up and loading our magazines only after the transition.

A score of 210 was required for designation as a “rifleman”.  Four students earned a “rifleman” mark, and received a patch designating them such. I was not one of them. I saw gradual improvement throughout the second day, and was happy to see that I had made significant progress.

The culmination of the weekend was a final shoot on the “redcoat” target. On my final target I managed three rounds on the 100 yard target and three more on the 200 yard target. I only managed one hit on the 300 yard target. However, for the first time I was now “effective” at a given range – two even.  And I was only an inch off from the 400 yard target and the head shot.

Not bad for a guy who suffers from computer programmer eyes. And has difficulties seeing the smaller silhouettes on the target even with glasses.

Additional Notes:

Throughout the weekend I had a number of technical issues. These mostly fell into two categories. Failure to fire and faulty magazines.  On Saturday I had only a couple rounds that failed to fire. On Sunday I had half a dozen.   Which is not uncommon in a bulk box of budget .22LR ammunition.  As for the magazine issues –  I only had one magazine for the 10/22 and had to borrow a few. The result was two factory ruger magazines, and two generic 30 round plastic magazines.  The latter had a habit of falling out.  But they were easier to remove during magazine changes.

I also had the opportunity to use a borrowed 10/22 equipped with the Tech Sights.  I found them very affective. And I believe my perfect sights would be Tech Sights equipped with a fiber-optic front post.

It is my plan to attend additional Appleseed events in the future with the goal of achieving a “rifleman” score.  Down the road  I may even consider pursuing instructor certification with the RWVA.

Those who attend an Appleseed can join the RVWA and become eligible to participate in the Civilian Marksmanship Program (CMP). Qualifying for purchase of surplus rifles such as the M1 Garand.  So if you are looking for a means to participate in CMP purchase. This may be an option for you. I believe membership in RWVP is $20/year.

For those wondering about the cost.  The basic Appleseed weekend course is $70/person. However, it is free for women, those under 21 and those in the military.

Things I plan to do differently:

  • I hope to have Tech-Sights equipped on my rifle. (If I can equip it with one of these fiber optic front posts – all the better.)
  • Steel lipped magazines that do not fall out.
  • Staple gun
  • Speed loader

I greatly enjoyed the tie to American history.  And I was glad that there were no overtones of “militia” or this being for the purpose of preparing for a future revolution.  In fact, it felt more akin to my days of yesteryear with the Boy Scouts of America. What they did do is tie the 2nd Amendment to the 1st Amendment. They explained that our Founding Fathers gave us a third option. Instead of tyranny or revolution, we have the option to apply influence within a Republic.  They encouraged us to train and hone those skills as well. That we need to be skilled with our 1st Amendment as well as our 2nd Amendment. Something I strongly advocate and that is an vocal point of the Six-Percenter Project that I have supported.

We advocates of the 2nd Amendment must also be equally skilled marksman with the tools of our 1st Amendment.

Final reflections

The Appleseed Project is an excellent “First Step” to rifle marksmanship.  If you have training and skill already, you may still find it a useful tool for improvement – if not, maybe you should consider volunteering as an instructor.  If you’ve been on the fence wondering if you should attend an Appleseed in your area, let me encourage you to jump and go for it!

—-

Appleseed: Day Zero

Appleseed: Day One

Appleseed: Day Two

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nugun.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/the-appleseed-project-day-two/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The Appleseed project is much more than a first step into riflery. It is the finest rifle marksmanship instruction available anywhere in the World at any price.

    Often military veterans of many years service will attend an event and remark that they had never had instruction as good as they received at Appleseed in all their years in the service.


Leave a comment